In Castelrotto, Siusi allo Sciliar, Fiè allo Sciliar and on the Alpe di Siusi there are plenty of trip destinations for families, culture appreciators and nature lovers
Churches, chapels, castles, castle ruins, museums, art treasures and natural landmarks
The Sciliar area has much to offer in terms of South Tyrolean culture, traditions, art and nature. Some of the most significant sights in the area include the unique natural landmarks of the UENESCO World Heritage Site as well as picturesque chapels, castles and castle ruins.
The Parish Church of Castelrotto is dedicated to the apostles Peter and Paul. It dates back to the classical era. The late-classical high altar, with its marble tabernacle, is especially beautiful.
The Castelrotto Tower is the landmark of Castelrotto. The freestanding bell tower is 82 m high and is one of the tallest church towers in South Tyrol. Guided tours of the tower provide interesting details about the church tower’s history.
Monte Calvario, also known as “colle” or “kofel” by locals, is a hill in the middle of Castelrotto, which is reached via a short, steep path from the village’s centre. There is a trail on Monte Calvario to remember the suffering of Christ on the way to the cross, which is depicted in several small chapels along the way.
The Old Siusi Allo Sciliar Parish Church, dedicated to Mary, Help of Christians is located in Siusi allo Sciliar’s village centre and is often called the “old church” by locals as there is also the “new” Parish Church of Santa Croce (the Holy Cross) with cemetery in the village. In the past, the church was a popular pilgrimage destination.
The Parish and Archaeological Museum is located in the former Chapel of St. Michel next to the parish church in Fiè allo Sciliar. Late-Gothic works of art from various churches in the surrounding area are on display on the upper floor while the archaeology exhibition, with finds from the Neolithic period all the way to the Middle Ages, is located on the ground floor.
Prösels Castle, which was commissioned by the lords of Völs in 1200, lies above Fiè allo Sciliar. In the summer, various cultural events such as concerts and plays take place in the courtyard of the castle. It’s a popular trip destination.
The Castelvecchio Ruin is located in a dense forest near Siusi allo Sciliar and is assumed to have been built in the 12th century. It sits on a 20 m high boulder, which broke away from the Santner peak back in prehistoric times. During restoration work, remnants of frescoes were revealed and various medieval items discovered.
The Witches’ Benches at the Bullaccia on the Alpe di Siusi have numerous myths and legends attached to them. These are special stone formations that form the shape of a seat. They are said to have once been the gathering place of the Sciliar Witches. An approximately 1.5-hour hike leads from Compaccio to the Bullaccia viewpoint and the Witches’ Benches.
The Malenger Mill in San Vigilio, located below Siusi allo Sciliar, is the only mill still in operation in the Sciliar area. Constructed of larch wood, the mill was first documented in the 15th century but probably dates from an even earlier period. It is still used by the local miller for domestic use.
The School Museum in Tagusa provides an insight into the development of the South Tyrolean education system and daily school life between 1933 and 1993, from the time of the Austrian Empire, through Fascist rule to the present day. Back in the 18th century, the Tagusa village school was located exactly where the museum of today is found. The classrooms and the staff room as well as various old school items such as chalk boards, satchels and exercise books are all on display.